Skip to content
30 September, 2011 / theexpositor

Is McDonald labeling those who question The Elephant Room and/or T.D. Jakes, pagans?

This comment and reply comes from the James McDonald site from a post titled Why I am Excited to have T.D. Jakes in The Elephant Room. The comment is from a Michael Plato and the reply from James McDonald himself. I submitted a reply question and hope that it gets a response.

Michael PlatoSep.30.2011<!––>

Brother James,
I appreciate the fact that you have been so prompt in your response to the calls for accountability. Many of us love you and your ministry dearly and I, at least, am glad when you listen to those of us who may not have very large megaphones. May we all ultimately proclaim the glory of Christ’s name and the triunity of the Godhead.
In this spirit of dialogue, and if it is possible within time constraints, could you clarify a few points of concern? For one, what aspects of the Trinity do you find “a mystery”? I know many speak of the mystery of the Trinity, but I had always thought of that in terms of joyous anticipation of its infinite glories. Doctrinally and definitionally, at least, the New Testament and the creeds seem quite clear and specific as regards its basic constitution. I mean it’s not as if there’s going to be some sudden surprise like the Father is not a person, or there are two essences, or something .
I am also concerned by your statement: “Every minister of the Gospel should welcome and learn from criticism, but critics that act like pagans are probably just that.” What do you mean by “act like pagans”? What is your criterion for distinguishing…

James MacDonald Reply:
September 30th, 2011 at 7:24 am

Michael:
I hope you understand I cannot turn this forum into a conversation. That is one of the reasons for ER.
You won’t be able to tell from the site what I think a “pagan” critic looks like because those comments are deleted,
as are ones that are well written but simply, yet another, expression of the same thing. In this instance I am
also not posting any comments that are critical of Bishop Jakes. he has been kind enough to accept our
invitation and I don’t want my ministry leading up to the ER to be a forum for people to spew venom. I would never allow that.

james

 

Mike Corley Reply:Your comment is awaiting moderation.
September 30th, 2011 at 9:15 am

Am I understanding you correctly that you are labeling people such as myself, and others, that even question you or question Jakes’ theology and methods, as being pagans?

 

Am I misunderstanding the reply by Dr. McDonald or he is saying those that disagree with he or Jakes, or even questions Jakes or his theology, are “pagans” and being “people who spew venom”?

No doubt there Dr. McDonald may receive some inappropriate  comments but if his intention is to lump all people questioning this situation into that catergory, it is very disturbing and totally uncalled for.

2 Comments

  1. Ken Silva / Sep 30 2011 11 07

    “critics that act like pagans are probably just that”

    Mike, let me translate that for you as I see it.

    “People, especially if they aren’t ‘names,’ who disagree with myself and Mark Driscoll obviously couldn’t be Christians.”

    Apparently, they are the elite ones Mike; we mere mortals don’t deserve to breathe their air.

    I have good reason to believe they WANT to mainstream T.D. Jakes so they’ll carefully monitor what said in order to do so.

  2. JosephT / Sep 30 2011 20 48

    Well, it is not the first time believers with honest concerns have been rebuked by a superstar celebrity pastor for “sinning through questioning.”

    See: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/11/magazine/11punk-t.html?pagewanted=4&hp

Comments are closed.