Skip to content
17 June, 2011 / theexpositor

Amen, to Dr. Bryan Wright and the SBC response to homosexuality

What a wonderfully gracious and faithful response by SBC President Dr. Bryan Wright as he met this week with homosexual groups during the denominations annual meeting in Phoenix, Arizona. I am posting exceprts below but you can read the entire at ChristianPost.com.

“Obviously, we don’t feel that there can be an apology for teaching sexual purity,” Wright said, according to Baptist Press. “As followers of Christ, our only authority for practicing our faith is Scripture, is the Word of God. … As followers of Christ it would be very difficult for us to betray our faith by ignoring what God says about sexual purity.”

“When I teach from the pulpit about adultery, I don’t hate adulterers,” Wright said. “Just as we have people attending our local church that are engaging in homosexual activity, we have people attending our church who are engaging in adultery. I don’t hate those people when I speak about adultery. I am just, hopefully, loving them enough to speak the truth about what God desires for the best for that person.”

“Looking at sexual purity from Scripture, we’re not going to be able to come to common ground,” he added. “I hope you all would respect that we’re just seeking to follow Jesus.”

