Skip to content
28 February, 2011 / theexpositor

What in the world is going on now?

I am saddened, and yes, even shocked to learn that John Piper will be conducting a Desiring God Conference at Saddleback Church in California in April 2011. What are we to make of this? Why is someone so admired and trusted; so loved and respected; someone who has stood so faithfully and boldly for the cause of Christ and His Gospel as John Piper, entering into a partnership with someone that is blatantly ashamed of the Gospel? Why? Why? Why?

Is Dr. Piper going there to call Warren to repentance? He is going there to declare to the people at Saddleback that Warren’s “gospel” isnt the true Gospel? Is Dr. Piper going there to declare ‘thus saith the Lord’?

On her Crosstalk BlogĀ Ingrid Schlueter offers a post titled John Piper Desiring Rick Warren, and I read the article and my gut wants to scream, “No thats not right! That can’t be! There more to this than what we know!”.

Yet I recall all of the many instances where this has happened in other ministries and I cringe and I cry.

