Skip to content
27 September, 2010 / theexpositor

Thoughts on an early Monday morning

We are starting to feel a cool snap here in parts of the south. It’s wonderful to awake and feel the crispness in the air, to sit on the porch with a cup of coffee and listen to the sounds and none them include cars or cell phones.

Speaking of cell phones, both of mine stayed put away on a shelf or in the console of my truck for the weekend. At several points, I even forgot I had them. It was great!

I sent my winter hat off for cleaning and reshaping, something I have never done before. I usually do it myself. But this time I am able to let a professional do it. Mike Moore at Buckaroo Hatters in Brighton, TN in case you’re wondering.

I told myself I wouldn’t let it bother me, but it seems I fooled myself. September 23rd was my birthday, and none of children remembered; no phone calls, no text messages. I have tried to be a tough guy but it has bothered me.

Three wonderfully dear people went out of their way for my birthday: Mrs. Mildred gave me a subscription to American Cowboy magazine, a very thoughtful gift. Jamie gave me a book of the Texas Rangers (lawmen, not the baseball team) and a set of charcoal and graphite art pencils. Teri gave me a money clip with the symbol of the greatest state in America, Texas, plus a autographed copy of Joaquin Jackson’s book One Ranger….and another thing that brings back joyful memories of my younger days, stage plank cookies. Thank you all for being so kind.

I am a blessed man, especially that God has extended to me His great grace, His many blessings and His magnificent mercies.

