Skip to content
30 August, 2010 / theexpositor

God, the gospel, and Glenn Beck

THIS ARTICLE IS A MUST READ! From OneNews.com comes this article by Dr. Russell Moore commenting on the tragedy, error and lack of discernment surrounding the “revival” led by Glenn Beck. How dumb and lazy we, the church have become.

We used to sing that old gospel song, "I will cling to an old rugged cross, and exchange it some day for a crown."  The scandalous scene at the Lincoln Memorial indicates that many of us want to exchange it in too soon. To Jesus, Satan offered power and glory. To us, all he needs offer is celebrity and attention.

Mormonism and Mammonism are contrary to the gospel of Jesus Christ. They offer another Lord Jesus than the One offered in the Scriptures and Christian tradition, and another way to approach him. An embrace of these tragic new vehicles for the old Gnostic heresy is unloving to our Mormon friends and secularist neighbors, and to the rest of the watching world. Any "revival" that is possible without the Lord Jesus Christ is a "revival" of a different kind of spirit than the Spirit of Christ (1 Jn. 4:1-3).

The answer to this scandal isn’t a retreat, as some would have it, to an allegedly apolitical isolation. Such attempts lead us right back here, in spades, to a hyper-political wasteland. If the churches are not forming consciences, consciences will be formed by the status quo, including whatever demagogues can yell the loudest or cry the hardest. The answer isn’t a narrowing sectarianism, retreating further and further into our enclaves. The answer includes local churches that preach the gospel of Jesus Christ, and disciple their congregations to know the difference between the kingdom of God and the latest political whim.

It’s sad to see so many Christians confusing Mormon politics or American nationalism with the gospel of Jesus Christ. But, don’t get me wrong, I’m not pessimistic. Jesus will build his church, and he will build it on the gospel. He doesn’t need American Christianity to do it. Vibrant, loving, orthodox Christianity will flourish, perhaps among the poor of Haiti or the persecuted of Sudan or the outlawed of China, but it will flourish.

And there will be a new generation, in America and elsewhere, who will be ready for a gospel that is more than just Fox News at prayer.

3 Comments

  1. David / Aug 30 2010 18 27

    I have a question from your previous post: What is a Christian? To me, not being able to judge someone’s heart, if he says he’s a Christian and acts like a Christian, he may be a Christian.

    I agree with Dr. Moore when he says that it’s sad to see people confusing Mormon politics or American nationalism with the gospel. (Hint to Dr. Moore-Jesus DID build his church 2000 years ago on the first Pentecost in Acts 2. He did build it on the gospel. The Catholic Church today is that church). But what Beck is saying, to me, is that we need to look to God to show us how to make our nation right. We should be asking “God, what should I be doing today?” and prayerfully listening. Most Americans don’t bother listening to God, rather, they read the Gospel (or not) and think they know what it says.

    Question: What is orthodoxy, and how do we know it’s orthodox?

    • theexpositor / Sep 2 2010 7 50

      Thanks David for your comment. The barometer, the measure, the standard of being a Christian, is the Bible, the Word God. The Bible is inerrant, infallible and of Divine inpsiration. When we say we read the Gospel, we are reading the very words of God himself, and if we are to biblically accurate, then we must take the entire Bible, Old and New Testament, and live and be obedient to it in its total context. Just knowing and expressing the words and phrases with the name God included, doesnt necessarily make me a Christian. For an example, I personally live a western/cowboy type lifestyle; i wear boots and everyday I wear a cowboy hat. Now I have done some ranch work in my day, but wearing the garb in and of itself doesnt make me a working cowboy. If someone wanted to know for certain whether I was a working cowboy or not, they would have to look at my life, my work, my desires and goals and what type of evidence they all produce. Same thought applies to being a Christian; what does the life of one who claims to be a follower Jesus Christ produce and is that life consistent with the Word of God? To Him alone be the glory. Thanks again David.

      • David / Sep 2 2010 11 22

        I agree with you, pretty much. But there are some issues. For one, what was the standard of being a Christian before there was a Bible? There was really no recognized Christian canon for 300 years. And even when there was a canon, because of the necessary slowness of copying texts, most of the knowledgeable Christian leaders had read it, and gone on to preach it to their flock (not having a Bible in front of them, or a document, just preaching it from their memory). So how did they define a Christian.

        Another issue I have…what if someone is new to his faith journey, how does he show his ‘body of work’? I’ve been a practicing Christian for 5 years. I grew up in a Christian church through my K-12 years, but after that was a believer, but not an active one. So if someone knew my background, which was bad enough, would that give someone reason to distrust? Because now, for the last 5 years, I’ve been diligent, and very, very active since then. Not that I’m in the public eye, but should people ignore what I say just because I’ve only got 5 years of active Christianity? At any rate, I don’t look at Beck as a preacher, and I agree that people shouldn’t. But his message is pretty much right on. He held his rally because of Romans 8:28, not because of MLK, and if you read that verse and following, you would see he was right on message.

Comments are closed.