Skip to content
31 March, 2010 / theexpositor

Please tell me this is a joke!

from SharperIron.org comes this upsetting headline:

Desiring God 2010 National Conference to Feature Rick Warren

The post reads….

SharperIron has confirmed with Jonathan at Desiring God in Minneapolis that Rick Warren is among the speakers for the 2010 Desiring God National Conference. There will be more details explaining the invitation from DesiringGod.org in the near future

UPDATE: This URL will provide further information as it is available.

Please someone tell me this is a really bad joke and that John Piper is not partnering with the false prophet Warren! I know what someone of you will tell me…’Well, he promoted Mark Driscoll and even Doug Wilson!’. Even with that said, this differences involving Warren are in my opinion are vastly different in comparison to Driscoll for example.

Could there any greater differences between two ministries, two soteriologies, than Piper and Warren? As Warner Wolf would say “COME ON!”.

I will dig into this more…..

2 Comments

  1. Mark S / Mar 31 2010 16 40

    Don’t know, but I do agree. I’m not a Driscoll fan, but purely on account of style. Wilson from what I know is correct about essentials, though I disagree on eschatology and wonder about the scope of his influence on a section of Christendom. But Warren seems to be weird and going weirder; having him on a stage such at this is not a good strategy to “win a brother” (back) into orthodoxy.

  2. Nathan W. Bingham / Mar 31 2010 22 26

    This is no joke, John Piper has confirmed it. Hear the audio here.

Comments are closed.