Skip to content
21 January, 2009 / theexpositor

Greatness

Now in my 47th year, I find myself taking inventory of myself more frequently. The circumstances of life and its trials, tests and disappointments, seem to form a greater picture than ever before. Perhaps it’s that after all this time; I see them in a better light. Yet, I find myself more and more, lying on the wet green grass, either literally or metaphorically, gazing into a blue sky, pondering the reason that I have been placed on the massive planet.

In my days of youth, I pondered greatness. What could I do to be known or man, or to achieve the fleshly measures of success? My mind played back and forth upon the glamorous or the fanciful, those endeavors or pursuits which would garnish attention and self-glorification. I guess most of us have such a mindset as children. Such dreams are not totally unhealthy, as isn’t the joy of a child to dream? It has always been my wish to never squash the dreaming of a young heart to dream the impossible, but for God to help me to guide and encourage the dreamer. I knew this all of too well, but sadly from the reverse perspective.

Part of me I guess is still lying on that wet grass in a field gazing into the heavens wondering, why? Yes I still dream, visions if you will, of my life thus far, and what is has, and will, become.

Although I still think of greatness, now my ponderings ask a different question; asking what greatness is. As time seems to move so much quickly, greatness has come to mean that I am less and less.  It has come to mean that there is most certainly a cause, a reason, far greater than just ourselves, and the greatness comes in knowing that God has granted us some small part in His cause.

One Comment

  1. Brett S / Jan 26 2009 20 48

    “greatness has come to mean that I am less and less”

    Beautiful post, Mike. You remind me of the great sermon preached by John the Baptist, “He must increase, but I must decrease.” [John 3:30]

    I knew I liked you for a reason; you really are a mystic at heart. Keep up the good work!

    “He wants them to learn to walk and must therefore take away His hand; and if only the will to walk is really there He is pleased even with their stumbles. Do not be deceived, Wormwood. Our cause is never more in danger, than when a human, no longer desiring, but intending, to do our Enemy’s will, looks round upon a universe from which every trace of Him seems to have vanished, and asks why he has been forsaken, and still obeys.” [Screwtape Letters – CS Lewis]

Comments are closed.