Skip to content
20 November, 2008 / theexpositor

Voddie Baucham on the SBC and Calvinism

This clip comes from Christian Research Network

From Voddie Baucham Ministries:

Those who know me have probably asked me at one time or another why I am part of the Southern Baptist Convention.  To tell you the truth, I’ve been thinking that a lot myself lately.  I am especially disturbed by events at the recent John 3:16 conference sponsored by Jerry Vines Ministries, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary, Luther Rice Seminary and Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. 

The conference represents a growing antagonism in Southern Baptist life toward those who embrace the Doctrines of Grace.  Unfortunately, this conference lacked some of the the balance and tact of the Building Bridges Conference.  See critiques here, here, and here.  The last link is especially revealing since James White was labeled a hyper-Calvinist while he was in London pressing the claims of Christ among Muslims!  Hyper-Calvinist?  “You keep using that word… I do not think it means what you think it means.” (Inigo Montoya, The Princess Bride)  

For a ‘lighter’ take on things look here.  I only post this because I have been bombarded with questions as to where I am in this ‘fight’. Of course, it is not much of a fight.  The SBC establishment is firmly and openly anti-Calvinist.  There is no question about that.  There is but one question…

One Comment

  1. John Daly / Nov 21 2008 0 55

    I hold to the Doctrines of His Marvelous Grace and I am a Baptist. It would not be correct to label myself a Calvinist however as I do not subscribe to all his views. In fairness to a person, you can’t pick and choose which points of their theology in which you agree and then use their name. That would also be fair to our Presbyterian friend too I would think. Now I like the term Calvinistic Baptist or Reformed Baptist, it just doesn’t seem correct to use the term Calvinist. Any thoughts?

Comments are closed.