Skip to content
06 May, 2008 / theexpositor

Review of Roger Olsen’s “Arminian Theology: Myths and Realities”

from Reformation 21, by Dr. Carl Trueman, Academic Dean, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia, PA

“……the heavy didactic tone of the book comes over at times as rather patronizing; but if you can cope with this and are also aware of the serious mistakes in Olson’s understanding of the scholarship on seventeenth century thought, this is a useful, if flawed, guide to how a leading contemporary Arminian understands his own tradition.”

 

One Comment

  1. Diane R / May 7 2008 17 04

    I followed your link and read Dr. Trueman’s critique of Olson’s book. I’ve read Olson’s book and I found it was helpful to me (I am now in process “hanging” somewhere in the middle between the two poles but tending a bit toward Calvinism) in supplying direct quotes from Arminius and the Remonstrants themselves. Olson points out that some of the criiticisms leveled today by Calvinists as to what Arminianism really believe turns out to be “Finneyism.” Thankfully, Olson seems to reject Finneyism. I think it’s very important not to confuse these two and I thank Roger Olson for helping us distinguish between the them.

    I think I know what some of are going to say….”Finneyism is the natural outgrowth of Arminianism.” Yes that’s right, but Arminianism doesn’t have to go there and I think Olson presents a good case for what to believe and what not to believe and that would limit it from going into extremes. We could also probably argue about the extremes that Calvinism has gone to, also.

Comments are closed.