Skip to content
13 April, 2008 / theexpositor

Thank God for the faithfulness of Lakeshore

Only after having a little down time today have I had the real opportunity to reflect on my visit this week to Lakeshore Baptist Church. The testimonies, the stories of how God has been glorified through the ministry there moved me in a way that will remain with me forever.

Many of us talk about the struggles and challenges we go through. I have had my share of whining about my “trials”. But when one experiences something like what has happened, and is happening, at Lakeshore, it affords one a totally different perspective.

Much has been made of what is called “social or mercy ministries” in the last 20 years, and we must never take away from the mandate God has given to the church to take care of the widows, orphans and those in need. I of the opinion that the ultimate responsibility for such ministry lies upon the church anyway, and with the ministry at Lakeshore, I found a wonderful balance of what the church is called to do.

As I listened to those who lived through the devastation of Hurricane Katrina, their spirit of gratitude was obvious. It was also obvious that the shock of the tragedy and the pain of loss were just as real today, almost three years later, than it was on that day in August of 2005. However the evidence of the sufficiency of the grace of our sovereign Lord eclipsed all of the hurt, and through the ministry of Lakeshore Baptist Church, and others, God continues to make Himself known.

I am not certain of why it took as long as it did for me to actually visit Lakeshore. Pastor Don Elbourne and I had exchanged emails for some time before we finalized a date. I do know this; after visiting there, I will never be the same. I was profoundly affected by the heart of people like Greg London, the project coordinator for the ministry, who after working all day, he was stilling going strong at 9pm that evening, praising God for the blessing of serving Him there. His faithfulness humbled me.

I am sincerely grateful to Pastor Don for giving me to chance to preach that evening from his pulpit and for being so faithful to the call of the Lord. Thank you brother so much.

I will return to Lakeshore, soon I feel.     

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. bebereans / May 2 2008 20 51

    “However the evidence of the sufficiency of the grace of our sovereign Lord eclipsed all of the hurt, and through the ministry of Lakeshore Baptist Church, and others, God continues to make Himself known.”

    Yes He does. That was a wonderful show. Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. thank you lord for your blessing on me
  2. Rebuild Lakeshore » Mike Corley in Lakeshore

Comments are closed.