Skip to content
13 February, 2008 / theexpositor

The Gospel-Driven Life-Dr. Harry Reeder III

This is a portion of an article from the January 2008 issue of TableTalk magazine

“Young Christian, the world despises the Gospel in its simplicity and disdains the vessels entrusted to carry and proclaim it. But there is power under the hood. Live the Gospel, believe and preach the whole Gospel — the Gospel blessings that declare who you are in Christ, the Gospel imperatives that call you to your new life for Christ. This Gospel transforms the hearts, minds, and wills of sinners. Thankfully, it continues to transform mine. Preach it to yourself, to each other, and to the lost, and know the joys of the Gospel-driven life.

Read the entire article….

One Comment

  1. Douglas / Feb 14 2008 4 14

    “Preach it to yourself, to each other, and to the lost, and know the joys of the Gospel-driven life. “”

    The “joys of the Gospel-driven life?” Where does it say in the Bible that the Christian life is “Gospel-driven?” A life that is “DRIVEN” is not joyful at all. Christians are not Gospel-driven, purpose driven, church driven, promise driven, God driven, Jesus Driven, driven this driven that, Christians are Gospel/promise-given. Unredeemed sinners, animals and demons are driven but Christians are NOT driven. Christians are Holy Spirit guided into all truth. My LORD Jesus Christ does not “drive” me, He leads me beside the still waters and gives me living water and will lead me to the fountains of living water.

    John 16:5
    “But now I go my way to him that sent me; and none of you asketh me, Whither goest thou? 6 But because I have said these things unto you, sorrow hath filled your heart. 7 Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you. 8 And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: 9 Of sin, because they believe not on me; 10 Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more; 11 Of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged. 12 I have yet many things to say unto you, but ye cannot bear them now. 13 Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.”

    Psalm 23
    “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh (1. to stretch oneself out, lie down, lie stretched out a) (Qal) to lie down, lie b) (Hiphil) to cause to lie down) me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth (1. to lead, give rest, lead with care, guide to a watering place or station, cause to rest, bring to a station or place of rest, guide, refresh a) (Piel) 1. to lead to a watering-place or station and cause to rest there 2. to lead or bring to a station or goal 3. to lead, guide 4. to give rest to 5. to refresh (with food) b) (Hithpael) 1. to lead on 2. to journey by stations or stages) me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth (1. to lead, guide a) (Qal) to lead, bring b) (Hiphil) to lead, guide) me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.”

    John 4:14 “But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

    Revelation 7:17
    “For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead (1. to be a guide, lead on one’s way, to guide 2. to be a guide or a teacher a) to give guidance to) them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.”

    Are we truly driven? Or are we truly lead?

    Driven or Led?
    Notice the difference between being “driven” and being “led”:

    My joy is found in the Gospel-given life. It has no man made ® trade marks upon it.

    The Gospel transforms the hearts, minds, and wills of repentant sinners. Thankfully, it continues to transform mine.

    2 Corinthians 1:20
    “For all the promises of God in him are yea, and in him Amen, unto the glory of God by us.”

Comments are closed.