Skip to content
05 December, 2007 / theexpositor

Integrity, Accountability and the Grassley Investigation

J. Lee Grady, Editor of Charisma Magazine, writes this courageous and true assessment of the current investigation by the U.S. Senate into the financial dealings of some of the major “prosperity Gospel” ministries. They include the ministries of Paula White, Joyce Meyer, Creflo Dollar, Eddie Long, Kenneth Copeland and Benny Hinn. As a charismatic, and the editor of a major publication, it took guts for Grady to write what he did. I appreciate his courage and faithfulness.

“What is unfortunate about this investigation is that it had to be initiated by someone in the federal government. The Christian public should have demanded a higher level of accountability a long time ago. Why have we been silent when we know certain ministries are operating without a proper board of directors or without any accountability?

I’ve been praying about all the uncomfortable shaking that is taking place in the church today—from the embarrassing moral failures to the cavalier ministry divorces to the ORU scandal—and I sense that God is the one who is orchestrating these events.

I believe He is raising His holy plumb line over the church today. He is demanding that we come in line with His higher ways. He is decreeing: “I will have a holy people. I will expose greed, arrogance, larceny and corruption, and I will correct theological error that has led My people into materialism, selfishness and idolatry. The process will be painful, but in the end My people will be purified.”

I hope every one of these ministries can prove they’ve done nothing wrong. But if God wants to use a senator to help the American church clean up its act, then I say bring on the reformation.”

Read the entire article….

One Comment

  1. JeReynolds / Dec 10 2007 17 38

    This is long been needed. I was drawn up in a lot of this properity theory until God got a hold of me and placed certain convictions on my heart. While attending Events where people were told to max out their credit cards (Benny Hinn) and God would bless them my son of 9 yrs old looked up at me and said, “Mom doesnt sound right”. I then looked up and knew I was not in the right place and prayed God would reveal truth to me where I needed to be. I walked away from the Word of Faith movement and knew there had to be more. It was the best choice I made but it is a lonely place to be. This movement is scary and I want no part of it. It is running rampant and I feel that something needs to happen. Thank God for the investigations. Thank God for his Faithfulness.

    JER

Comments are closed.