Skip to content
20 November, 2007 / theexpositor

The Faith Driven Family

Dr. Voddie Baucham has penned what I think it is the best book ever written on the Christian family. Family Driven Faith, Doing What It Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk with Godis a book that I needed to read at a specific point and time in my life, and I am extremely grateful to Dr. Baucham for writing it. You must get a copy. It is available at www.familydrivenfaith.org.

Here is a short excerpt from the book;

The key is to understand that our children don’t belong to us-they belong to God. Our goal as parents must not be limited by our own vision. I am a finite, sinful, selfish man. Why would I want to plan our children’s future when I can entrust them to the infinite, omnipotent, immutable, sovereign Lord of the universe? I don’t want to tell God what to do with my children-I want Him to tell me! When I allow my will to take precendence over God’s will, I have not only given way to a rival-I have become one.

2 Comments

  1. Brett S / Nov 20 2007 22 09

    Now your talking Mike!
    Nice to see you focus on a Preacher that is using his gifts to allow the gospel to penetrate the culture, instead of worrying about the (*******s, excuse me) pastors like Hagee that get off on some ridiculous tangent.

    I am a little curious though, when Dr. Baucham will be attacked for the “scripturalness” of his views on contraception.

    “The Church’s stand on birth control is the most absolutely spiritual of all her stands and with all of us being materialists at heart, there is little wonder that it causes unease. I wish various fathers would quit trying to defend it by saying that the world can support 40 billion. I will rejoice in the day when they say: This is right, whether we all rot on top of each other or not, dear children, as we certainly may. Either practice restraint or be prepared for crowding… ” – Flannery O’Conner

  2. strammel / Nov 22 2007 6 53

    Mike,

    Thanks for this post. I have not read the book yet, but I want to read it very soon and post a review.

    Your readers may be interested in a address that Voddie gave to a group of more than 1,000 pastors and church leaders gathered for the Southern Baptists of Texas State Evangelism Conference in the Dallas Metroplex. No one was ready for what happened next.

    You can go here to get the MP3 of that address:

    http://blog.shanetrammel.com/2007/11/16/the-centrality-of-the-home-voddie-baucham/

Comments are closed.