Skip to content
13 July, 2007 / theexpositor

R. Scott Clark on Infant Baptism

Since joining the PCA (Presbyterian Church in Amercia), probably the question I have been asked the most is ‘what about infant baptism’. I can’t begin to say I am an authority on the subject, in fact I am learning too. But one aspect of infant baptism that I have come to understand is that it is not salvific, or having the intent or power to save or redeem. I plan on doing a radio program on the subject in the next several weeks. Meanwhile, I submit to you this article by R. Scott Clark, associate professor of historical and systematic theology at Westminster Seminary in Escondido, California. Read it, study it and have your questions ready for the radio discussion.

Read-A Contemporary Reformed Defense of Infant Baptism 

spacebar.gif

One Comment

  1. Chermone / Jul 15 2007 8 40

    You know it seems to be very similar to “child dedication” in other churches (specifically what I came to the faith through). The only difference being that there is no water involved. Child dedication implies that the parents (and often times god-parents) willfully recognize the need for their child(ren) to be raised rightly before the Lord. It is a fact that I think many Christian parents tend to forget nowadays. It seems that too many are leaving the teaching of the scripture to the pastors and do not spend any time investing in their own children as they should.

Comments are closed.