Skip to content
06 April, 2007 / theexpositor

One note and one note only please…..

I asked Dr. John MacArthur in my recent interview with him if there is anything that shocks or surprises him any more? His reply was a simple, no. I am almost there in that opinion but not quite.

One case in point is what I call the “mock site” guys. I will not call them or their “blogs” by name because I will not give them the satisfaction or the publicity, but these are folks that devote entire internet sites to analyzing people like me, Ken Silva, Steve Camp, Ingrid Schleuter and others.

The first time I actually visited one of these sites, my first thought was ‘do these folks have jobs?’. I guess I should be flattered to mentioned on the same pages as the names listed above, but to be honest with you I am not flattered.  Frankly I am neither impressed or intimidated by their rantings and rhetoric. I have come to expect it quite frankly, even though most of these mock sites have the same four or five contributors who are constantly commenting on whether Ken Silva is too sarcastic, I am just plain ignorant, or Steve Camp is too forward. And they really have it out for Dr. John MacArthur who they flippantly refer to as “Johnnie Mac”.   

We are referred to as arrogant fundamentalists, narrow-minded and irrational. Yet they are the enlightened ones. We overreact, they are rational. We are illogical and they are the ones who are reasonable and always of coherent thought.

Define the emergent church they say. Yet when you do, they discount it.

Why don’t you have so-and-so on your radio program instead of just talking about the issue. Yet when you do, where are they? Like a spoiled whining little child, they want to take their ball and go home in a ‘your not the boss of me’ type attitude.

Many of them would love me to get into a back-and-forth with them, but I say now, I will not. 

We must contend for the faith, but there will be some who in spite of it all, will just simply refuse to believe and accept the Truth, even when it is clearly laid out before them. Nevertheless, having done all to stand….stand therefore.

“For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

3 Comments

  1. Darren Sapp / Apr 6 2007 17 10

    Mike,

    Although, we would disagree on a few issues, I enjoy listening to your show on http://www.oneplace.com and think it is presented in a professional and entertaining way. Regarding this subject and yesterday’s show about getting people back in church, I think my story typifies the many differences in this small blogging community. The emergent stuff has lots of truth problems but the seeker-sensitive / mega church movement gets lumped in with these guys.

    I have attended a seeker-sensitive / mega church in Rockwall, TX (www.lakepointe.org) for 14 years. That is where I heard the Gospel preached. I confessed Jesus as Lord. I grew through small group bible fellowship, mentor discipleship, God-exalting modern worship music, and biblical preaching. I am involved in numerous ministries and mission work. While I have a long way to go I am growing spiritually through what the Lord has done in that church. At our church, the Word of God is the absolute truth and salvation is found in Christ alone.

    I am witness to the same thing happening to hundreds of others in my church and many similar churches. I have also witnessed the same thing in very traditional churches. So those contributors and commenters like me are a little offended when it is suggested that we do not have a legitimate church. Now the mock site you are referring to might suggest that CRN devotes an entire internet site to analyze same 4 or 5 people. Needless to say, flippant names for Dr. MacArthur, as well calling Rick Warren the anti-christ on the old Slice site are not helpful. I think we should all write and comment as if we were on a long car ride together. That keeps things civil.

    Admittedly, there are a few churches today that spend so much time on presentation to attract the lost; they forget to give the most important message to the lost. I think that number is extremely low. I would liken this to the very few traditional churches that care more about tradition than that most important message they should be presenting. I think that in a nutshell, the broad brush is painted to often.

    Sincerely submitted,

    Darren

  2. Joe Martino / Apr 9 2007 19 11

    I’m curious, if you could explain to me how what you complain about is any different than what you do? In other words, I write for one of these “mock blogs” and all we do is look at what you’re saying and writing and compare it to Scripture. Ken’s entire blogs (both apprising and CRN) are dedicated to that which you deride here? Would you mind explaining the difference?
    Thanks,
    Joe

Trackbacks

  1. CRN.Info and Analysis » Mike Corley at the Epitome of Hypocrisy

Comments are closed.