Skip to content
24 January, 2007 / theexpositor

Two men who have their priorities straight

The older I get, the less interested I become in professional sports. You wouldn’t know it perhaps from looking at me, but at one point in my life I was a very good athlete, excelling in basketball and baseball (averaged 21 points a game, 45% from the field and 91% from the free throw line in round ball my senior year, before the three-point shot was the norm…but whose counting). Like many of you, I have been disgusted by the selfish attitudes of some in pro sports and the excessive promotions and marketing that is unfortunately so common place now.

I guess its because of this, that when I hear of ,or read of a coach or player giving the Lord credit in any shape, form or fashion, I take notice. Now I’m not talking the flippant ‘God bless you’ that you hear from some while they are taking a swig off a beer can. I mean an obvious heart-felt sincere acknowledgment of Who really is important in their lives.

Two cases in point, NFL coaches Tony Dungy of the Indianapolis Colts and Lovie Smith of the Chicago Bears. The mainstream media make big headlines of the fact that these two men became the first African-American head coaches to lead their teams to the Super Bowl, and this is not without its own value I guess.

But more worthy of recognition to me is that when the microphones were placed in front of these two men, after winning their respective conference titles, and advancing to what many regard as the biggest accomplishment in professional sports, these two humble men gave the glory and credit to the God they love and serve.

From a story published by Baptist Press, entitled Super Bowl coaches Dungy, Smith known for Christian testimony,

“The Lord set this up in a way that no one would believe it,” Dungy said following the Colts’ win over New England. “The Lord tested us a lot this year, but He set this up to get all the glory.”

Sure, sadly the Terrell Owens-type players get most of the attention with their childish tirades, hip-hop girades and guest appearances on network TV shows. But what a blessing is it to read of men like Tony Dungy and Lovie Smith, step up to the mic and prove they are not ashamed of the Gospel.

